Graduate Student Alumni

Includes student name, graduation year, current position if known, email address where available, and advisor.

  • Xin Wang, 2019, ansonl@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Wright, E.
  • Charlotte Mason, 2018, cmason@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Treu, T.
  • S. Michelle Consiglio, 2018, Postdoctoral Scholar, UCLA, smconsiglio@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Turner, J.
  • Emily Martin, 2018, NSF Postdoctoral Scholar and UC Chancellor’s Fellow, UC Santa Cruz, emartin@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: McLean, I.
  • Ryan Sanders, 2018, Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Davis, rlsand@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Shapley, A.
  • Samantha Chappell, 2018, schappell@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Sean Lake, 2017, lake@physics.ucla.edu, Advisor: Wright, E.
  • Xuheng Ding, 2017, Postdoctoral Scholar, UCLA, @astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Treu, T.
  • Sarah Logsdon, 2017, Asst. Scientist/NEID Instrument Scientist, NSF OIR Lab, slogsdon@noao.edu, Advisor: McLean, I.
  • Anna Boehle, 2017, Postdoctoral Scholar, ETH Zurich, aboehle@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Adam Greenber, 2017, Technical Staff, Raytheon, ahgreenberg@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Margot, J. L.
  • Alexis Popkow, 2016, Senior Systems Engineer, Raytheon, apopkow@ucla.edu, Advisor: Ong R.
  • Breann Sitarski, 2016, Optical Systems Scientist, GMT, bsitarski@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Laura Vican, 2016, Science Teacher, Sequoyah School, lvican@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Li-Wei Hung, 2016, Night Skies Research Scientist, National Park Service, li-wei_hung@nps.gov, Advisor: Fitzgerald, M.
  • Tom Esposito, 2015, Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Berkeley, tesposito@berkeley.edu, Advisor: Fitzgerald, M.
  • Shane Frewen, 2015, Physics and Computer Science Teacher, Flintridge Preparatory School, sfrewen@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Hansen, B.
  • Robin Mostardi Rehagen, 2015, Faculty, Las Positas College, Livermore, CA, robin.rehagen@gmail.com, Advisor: Shapley, A.
  • Nate Ross, 2015, Senior Principal Modeling & Simulation Engineer, Northrop Grumman, nross@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Malkan, M.
  • Fred Davies, 2015, Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Santa Barbara, davies@mpia.de, Advisor: Furlanetto, S.
  • Jeffrey Chilcote, 2014, Assistant Professor, Notre Dame, jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Gregory Mace, 2014, Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin, gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu, Advisor: McLean, I.
  • Siyi Xu, 2014, Assistant Astronomer, Gemini Observatory, sxu@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Jura, M.
  • Lauren Holzbauer, 2014, Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution, holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Furlanetto, S.
  • Kristin Kulas, 2013, Lecturer, Santa Clara University, kkulas@scu.edu, Advisors: McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
  • Betsy Mills, 2013, ;Assistant Professor, University of Kansas, bmills@nrao.edu, Advisor: Morris, M.
  • Julia Fang, 2013, Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, fang@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Margot, J.-L.
  • Tim Arlen, 2013, Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc., tca3@psu.edu, Advisor: Vassiliev, V.
  • Katherine Kornei, 2012, Science Writer; Museum Educator, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry, kkornei@omsi.edu, Advisor: Shapley, A.
  • Sylvana Yelda, 2012, Senior Data Scientist, Kollective Technology, syelda@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Kevin Hainline, 2012, Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona, kevinhainline@gmail.com, Advisor: Shapley, A.
  • Ian Crossfield, 2012, Assistant Professor, University of Kansas, ianc@lpl.arizona.edu, Advisor: Hansen, B.
  • Keri Dixon, 2012, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Sussex, K.Dixon@sussex.ac.uk, Advisor: Furlanetto, S.
  • Chris Crockett, 2011, Freelance science writer, cosmic.thespian@gmail.com, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • David Rodriguez, 2011, Archive Scientist, Space, kleinb@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Jura, M.
  • Matthew Wood, 2010, Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC, mdwood@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Vassiliev, V.
  • Daryl Parker, 2010, parker@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ulrich, R.
  • Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow, 2010, Financial Sector, yckchow@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ong, R.
  • Chun Ly, 2010, NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center, chun.ly@nasa.gov or astro.chun@gmail.com, Advisor: Malkan, M.
  • Tuan Do, 2010, Assistant Research Scientist, UCLA, tdo@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Ryan Mallery, 2010, Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics, rmallery@astro.ucla.ed, Advisor: Rich, M.
  • Steve Berukoff, 2009, Assistant Director for Data Products, National Ecological Observation Network, steveb@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Hansen, B.
  • Chao-Wei Tsai, 2009, Postdoctoral Researcher, JPL, cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu, Advisor: Turner, J.
  • Quinn Konopacky, 2009, Assisstant Professor, UC San Diego, konopacky@astro.utoronto.ca, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Carl Melis, 2009, Assistant Research Scientist, UC, xchen@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Wright, E.
  • Emily Rice, 2009, Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island, erice@amnh.org, Advisor: Mclean, I.
  • Tham Tran, 2009, tran@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ulrich, R.
  • Alaina Henry, 2009, NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center, ahenry@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Malkan, M.
  • Shelley Wright, 2008, Assistant Professor, UC San , wright@astro.utoronto.ca, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Erin Smith, 2008, Staff Scientist, NASA Goddard, esmith@hubble.gsfc.nasa.gov, Advisor: McLean, I.
  • Eugene Chen, 2008, Scientist, DecisionNext (San Francisco), eugene@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Hansen, B.
  • Christian Howard, 2008, Research Programs Communications Manager, Google, howard@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Rich, M.
  • Ozlem Celik, 2008, Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center, celik@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ong, R.
  • Louis Levenson, 2008, Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech, levenson@caltech.edu, Advisor: Wright, Ned
  • Alexander Jarvis, 2008, Analyst, Disney Productions, ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu, Advisor: Ong, R.
  • Jon C. Mauerhan, 2008, Research Staff, UC Berkeley, mauerhan@astro.berkeley.edu, Advisor: Morris, M.
  • Jessica Lu, 2008, Assistant Astronomer, IfA/Hawaii, jlu@ifa.hawaii.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Thayne Michael Currie, 2007, NAOJ-Subaru Research Fellow, Subaru Telescope, currie@naoj.org, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Michael William McElwain, 2007, Staff Scientist: Civil Servant, Goddard Space Flight Center, michael.w.mcelwain@nasa.gov, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Matthew Michael Barczys, 2006, Systems Engineer, NASA, Johnson Space Center, matbar@mac.com, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Seth David Hornstein, 2006, Senior Instructor, University of Colorado, Boulder, seth.hornstein@colorado.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks, 2006, Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage, ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu, Advisor: Malkan, M.
  • Peter Plavchan, 2006, Assistant Professor, George Mason University, plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu, Advisor: Jura, M.
  • Denise Kaisler, 2005, Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College, dkaisler@citruscollege.edu, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Mark Roland McG, 2005, Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Space Technology, , Advisor: Ong, R.
  • Joseph Hakjin Rhee, 2004, Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA, rhee@astro.ucla.edu, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Sarah Jane Lipscy, 2004, Engineer, Ball Aerospace, slipscy@ball.com, Advisor: Jura, M.
  • Caer-Eve McCabe, 2004, Research Scientist, Eureka Scientific Inc., caereve@gmail.com, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Michael J. Schwartz, 2004, Professor of Astronomy, Santa Monica College, schwartz_michael@smc.edu, Advisors: Becklin, E. Young. E.
  • Dawn Rene Williams, 2004, Assistant Professor, University of Alabama, drwilliams3@ua.edu, Advisor: Saltzberg, D.
  • Jay Farih, 2004, Assistant Professor, University College London, j.farihi@ucl.ac.uk, Advisor: Becklin, E.
  • Angelle Maria Tanner, 2003, Assistant Professor, Mississippi State University, at876@m, Advisor: Malkan, M.
  • James Willian, IV Colbert, 2003, Staff Scientist, NASA Spitzer Science Center, colbert@ipac.caltech.edu, Advisor: Malkan, M.
  • Amy Mainzer, 2003, Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Advisor: McLean, I.
  • Tiffany Michelle Glassman, 2002, Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman, glassman@ipac.caltech.edu, Advisor: Larkin, J.
  • Christine Hsiao-Ching Chen, 2002, Associate Astronomer, Space Telescope Science Institute, cchen@stsci.edu, Advisor: Jura, M.
  • David Stuart Meier, 2002, New Mexico Tech, dmeier@nmt.edu, Advisor: Turner, J.
  • Lukas Mandrake, 2002, Research Astronomer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, lpcrosthwaite@cox.net, Advisor: Turner, J.
  • Chris McCarthy, 2001, Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University, chris@stars.sfsu.edu, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Patrick James Lowrance, 2000, Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech, lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu, Advisor: Becklin, E.
  • Richard Albert Webb, 2000, NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames, rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Sungsoo Kim, 2000, Associate Professor of Astronomy, Kyung Hee University, Korea, sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr, Advisor: Morris, M.
  • Aimee Ann Norton, 2000, Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson, norton@noao.edu, Advisor: Ulrich, R.
  • Murray Daniel Silverstone, 2000, Instructor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Alabama, mdsilverstone@ua.edu, Advisor: Becklin, E.
  • Cornelia Chesley Lang, 2000, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa, cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu, Advisor: Morris, M.
  • Gregory Ronald Schultz, 1999, Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB, schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Jennifer Lynn Patience, 1999, Associate Professor, Arizona State University, jennifer.patience@asu.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Russel Joseph White, 1999, Associate Professor, Georgia State University, white@chara.gsu.edu, Advisor: Ghez, A.
  • Gregory Ronald Schultz, 1999, Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley, schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu, Advisor: Zuckerman, B.
  • Ranga-Ram Chary, 1999, Postdoctoral Fellow, IPAC/Caltech, rchary@ucolick.org, Advisor: Wright, Advisor: Ulrich, R.
  • Carl John Henney, 1999, SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory, henney@noao.edu, Advisor: Ulrich, R.