Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Namesort descending Year Current Position E-Mail Address Advisor
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Alexis Popkow 2016 apopkow@ucla.edu Ong R.
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
David Grahame Lawrie 1978 Scientist, Aerospace Corporation Ford, Holland
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Jeffrey Chilcote 2014 Dunlap Postdoc Fellow, University of Toronto jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
George Howard Jacoby 1978 Deputy Director (Technology), Lowell Observatory Ford, Holland
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Gregory Mace 2014 Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu McLean, I.
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Tim Arlen§ 2013 Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc. tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
George William Rainey Jr. 1977 Faculty, California Polytechnic University gwrainey@csupomona.edu Abell, George
Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Siyi Xu* 2014 ESO Fellow, ESO (European Southern Observatory) sxu@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Keri Dixon*§ 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Sussex K.Dixon@sussex.ac.uk Furlanetto, S.
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Lauren Holzbauer* 2014 Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow§ 2010 Financial Sector yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Thomas Stephen Eastmond 1977 Faculty, Santa Ana Community College Abell, George
Mark Roland McGovern 2005 Instructor - Astronomy/Physics, Antelope Valley College mmcgovern@avc.edu McLean, Ian
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Kristin Kulas* 2013 Lecturer, Santa Clara University kkulas@scu.edu McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
Steve Berukoff§ 2009 Assistant Director for Data Products, National Ecological Observation Network steveb@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Ronald Joseph Richard 1975 Faculty, Thomas Aquinas College Abell, George
Richard K. Albano 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Betsy Mills* 2013 Jansky Postdoc Fellow, NRAO bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
Julia Fang* 2013 Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Joseph Hakjin Rhee 2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA rhee@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, James
Dong-Woo Kim 1988 Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics kim@cfa.harvard.edu Jura, Mike
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Caer-Eve McCabe* 2004 Research Scientist, Eureka Scientific Inc caereve@gmail.com Ghez, Andrea
Wei-Hsin Sun 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General, National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Peter Plavchan§ 2006 Staff Scientist, Caltech plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu Jura, Mike
Mark Allen Fry 1973 Scientist, Air Force Weapons Lab Aller, Lawrence
Michael J. Schwartz 2004 Professor of Astronomy, Santa Monica College schwartz_michael@smc.edu Becklin, Eric/ Young. E
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Lukas Mandrake§ 2002 Coroniti, Ferd
Arati Chokshi* 1986 Professor of Astronomy, India Wright, Ned
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Alex G. Markowitz 2003 Research Astronomer, UC, San Diego agm@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Brian Rush§ 1995 Senior Navigation Engineer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory brush@jpl.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Samuel Bradley Larson 1997 , Raytheon Electronic Systems Larsonsbj@cs.com McLean, Ian
Omar Al Hurricane§ 1994 Coroniti, Ferd/Pellat, R.
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
Isabel Hawkins* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Sarah Logsdon* 2017 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center sarah.e.logsdon@nasa.gov McLean, I.
Philip Jon Sakimoto 1985 Program Planning Specialist, Office of Space Science, NASA Headquarters phil.sakimoto@hq.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Richard K. Albano§ 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Brian Mathew Punsly§ 1988 Coroniti, Ferd
Richard Alan Nolthenius 1984 Scientist / Instructor, Univesity of California Santa Cruz / Cabrillo College rickn@ucolick.org Jura, Mike
Ryan Mallery 2010 Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Stewart Lee Moses§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd/Kennel, C.
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Lukas Mandrake 2002 Research Astronomer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory lukas.mandrake@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Gordon Eric Eggum§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd
Sara Ridgway Heap* 1970 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan
Chris McCarthy 2001 Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Bruce Alan Macintosh 1994 Professor of Physics, Stanford University bmacint@stanford.edu Becklin, Eric
Patrick James Lowrance 2000 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu Becklin, Eric
Pornchai Pacharintanakul 1981 Professor of Astronomy, Chulalongkorn University Thailand pornchai@sprl.chula.ac.th Jura, Mike
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Anna Boehle* 2017 aboehle@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
David Stanley Leckrone 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired), Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger
Yeuncheol Jeong 1994 Research Scientist, Korea Wright, Ned
John David Anderson 1967 Senior Research Scientist (retired), Jet Propulsion Laboratory jdandy@earthlink.net Herrick, Samuel
Charles Dayton Keyes 1981 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute keyes@stsci.edu Aller, Lawrence
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Jo Eliza Pitesky* 1993 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory jo.pitesky@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Keven Isao Uchida 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Adam Greenberg 2017 Technical Staff, Raytheon ahgreenberg@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J. L.
Bernard James O'Mara 1967 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia omara@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Murray Daniel Silverstone 2000 Instructor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Alabama mdsilverstone@ua.edu Becklin, Eric
Wayne Buell Webb 1992 Staff Research Associate Astronomer; Director, UCLA; International Space Systems, The Aerospace Corporation wayne.b.webb@aero.org Malkan, Matt
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown