Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Name Year Current Position E-Mail Addresssort ascending Advisor
Zhengzhi Wang* 1994 Scientist, Boeing Satellite Systems zhengzhi.j.wang@boeing.com Ulrich, Roger
Yeuk Chun (Ken) Chow§ 2010 Financial Sector yckchow@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Xi Chen* 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, IPAC/Caltech xchen@astro.ucla.edu Wright, E.
Shelley Wright* 2008 Assistant Professor, UC San Diego wright@astro.utoronto.ca Larkin, James
William Hung Kan Lee 1967 , US Geological Survey whklee@usgs.gov Unknown
Russel Joseph White 1999 Associate Professor, Georgia State University white@chara.gsu.edu Ghez, Andrea
Wayne Buell Webb 1992 Staff Research Associate Astronomer; Director, UCLA; International Space Systems, The Aerospace Corporation wayne.b.webb@aero.org Malkan, Matt
Varoujan Gorjian 1998 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory varoujan.gorjian@jpl.nasa.gov Wright, Ned
Keven Isao Uchida 1993 Spitzer Staff Scientist, Cornell University uchida.4@osu.edu Morris, Mark
Tham Tran 2009 - tran@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Steven Tomczyk 1988 Scientist, High Altitude Observatory at NCAR tomczyk@hao.ucar.edu Ulrich, Roger
Tuan Do 2010 Assistant Research Scientist, UCLA tdo@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Tim Arlen§ 2013 Machine Learning Software Engineer, Second Spectrum, Inc. tca3@psu.edu V. Vassiliev
Sylvana Yelda* 2012 Data Scientist, Gravity syelda@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Siyi Xu* 2014 ESO Fellow, ESO (European Southern Observatory) sxu@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Lyla Suzanne Casement* 1995 JWST Research Scientist, Northrop Grumman Space Technology suzanne.casement@ngc.com McLean, Ian
Sungsoo Kim 2000 Associate Professor of Astronomy, Kyung Hee University, Korea sungsoo.kim@khu.ac.kr Morris, Mark
Wei-Hsin Sun 1987 Professor of Astronomy; Director General, National Taiwan University; The National Museum of Natural Science Taichung, Taiwan sun@phys.ntu.edu.tw Malkan, Matt
Sumner Grosby Starrfield 1969 Regents' Professor of Astrophysics, Arizona State University sumner.starrfield@asu.edu Upton
Steve Berukoff§ 2009 Assistant Director for Data Products, National Ecological Observation Network steveb@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Stephen James Little 1971 Visiting Professor of Astronomy, University of Colorado slittle@casa.colorado.edu Aller, Lawrence
Sarah Jane Lipscy* 2004 Engineer, Ball Aerospace slipscy@ball.com Jura, Mike
Sylvain Gereon Korzennik 1990 Research Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics skorzennik@cfa.harvard.edu Ulrich, Roger
Steven David Kilston 1973 Manager of Extrasolar Planet Advanced Missions, Ball Aerospace & Tech Corp skilston@ball.com Ulrich, Roger
Allen Wayne Shafter 1983 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University shafter@proteus.sdsu.edu Ulrich, Roger
Shane Frewen 2015 Physics and Computer Science Teacher, Flintridge Preparatory School sfrewen@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Seth David Hornstein 2006 Senior Instructor, University of Colorado, Boulder seth.hornstein@colorado.edu Ghez, Andrea
Scott Edward Evans 1999 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Scott.Evans@jpl.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
Michael J. Schwartz 2004 Professor of Astronomy, Santa Monica College schwartz_michael@smc.edu Becklin, Eric/ Young. E
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, PFSMETE program, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Gregory Ronald Schultz 1999 Education/Outreach Scientist and Teacher Educator, Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley schultz@ssl.berkeley.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Sarah Logsdon* 2017 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center sarah.e.logsdon@nasa.gov McLean, I.
Richard Albert Webb 2000 NRC Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Ames rwebb@mail.arc.nasa.gov Zuckerman, Ben
John Ernest Ross 1971 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia ross@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
Ronald Sylvester Polidan 1980 Scientist, Northrup-Grumman ronald.s.polidan@gsfc.nasa.gov Plavec, Mirek
Robin Mostardi Rehagen* 2015 Full-time Faculty, Las Positas College, Livermore, CA robin.rehagen@gmail.com Shapley, A.
Ryan Mallery 2010 Image Processing Scientist, Rebellion Photonics rmallery@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Richard Alan Nolthenius 1984 Scientist / Instructor, Univesity of California Santa Cruz / Cabrillo College rickn@ucolick.org Jura, Mike
Joseph Hakjin Rhee 2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA rhee@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, James
Ranga-Ram Chary 1999 Postdoctoral Fellow, IPAC/Caltech rchary@ucolick.org Wright, Ned
Roland Le Roy Carpenter 1966 Professor Emeritus of Astronomy, Cal State University Los Angeles rcarpen@neptune.calstatela.edu Aller, Lawrence
Robin Bruce Ciardullo 1986 Professor of Astronomy, Penn State University rbc@astro.psu.edu Jura, Mike
Pornchai Pacharintanakul 1981 Professor of Astronomy, Chulalongkorn University Thailand pornchai@sprl.chula.ac.th Jura, Mike
Peter Plavchan§ 2006 Staff Scientist, Caltech plavchan@ipac.caltech.edu Jura, Mike
Philip Jon Sakimoto 1985 Program Planning Specialist, Office of Space Science, NASA Headquarters phil.sakimoto@hq.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
John Michael Scalo 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Texas parrot@astro.as.utexas.edu Ulrich, Roger
Daryl Parker 2010 parker@astro.ucla.edu Ulrich, R.
Bernard James O'Mara 1967 Professor of Astrophysics, University of Queensland Australia omara@physics.uq.edu.au Aller, Lawrence
John Parker Oliver 1974 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida oliver@astro.ufl.edu Popper, Dan
Nate Ross 2015 Sr. Systems Engineer 1 , Raytheon nross@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Aimee Ann Norton* 2000 Assistant Astronomer, National Solar Observatory, Tucson norton@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Brant Owen Nelson 1996 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech nelson@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Michael Moses Dworetsky 1971 Senior Lecturer of Astronomy, University College London mmd@star.ucl.ac.uk Aller, Lawrence
Mark Roland McGovern 2005 Instructor - Astronomy/Physics, Antelope Valley College mmcgovern@avc.edu McLean, Ian
Michael William McElwain 2007 Staff Scientist: Civil Servant, Goddard Space Flight Center michael.w.mcelwain@nasa.gov Larkin, James
Matthew Wood 2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, SLAC mdwood@astro.ucla.edu Vassiliev, V.
Murray Daniel Silverstone 2000 Instructor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Alabama mdsilverstone@ua.edu Becklin, Eric
Paolo Alberto Mazzali 1989 Astronomer, Osservatorio Astronomico - Trieste, Italy mazzali@ts.astro.it Plavec, Mirek
Jon C. Mauerhan 2008 Research Staff, UC Berkeley mauerhan@astro.berkeley.edu Morris, Mark
Matthew Michael Barczys 2006 Systems Engineer, NASA, Johnson Space Center matbar@mac.com Larkin, James
Nickolaos Mastrodemos 1998 Scientist - Navigation Team, Jet Propulsion Laboratory mastro@thisvi.jpl.nasa.gov Morris, Mark
Laura Vican* 2016 Science Teacher, Sequoyah School lvican@astro.ucla.edu Zuckerman, B.
Lukas Mandrake 2002 Research Astronomer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory lukas.mandrake@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
Lucian Patrick Crosthwaite 2001 Software engineer, Northrop Grumman lpcrosthwaite@cox.net Turner, Jean
Patrick James Lowrance 2000 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech lowrance@ipac.caltech.edu Becklin, Eric
Li-Wei Hung* 2016 Night Skies Research Scientist, National Park Service liweih@astro.ucla.edu Fitzgerald, M.
Lauren Jones Likkel* 1989 Professor of Astronomy, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire likkel@uwec.edu Morris, Mark
Louis Levenson§ 2008 Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech levenson@caltech.edu Wright, Ned
Samuel Bradley Larson 1997 , Raytheon Electronic Systems Larsonsbj@cs.com McLean, Ian
Quinn Konopacky* 2009 Assisstant Professor, UC San Diego konopacky@astro.utoronto.ca Ghez, A.
Beth Klein* 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, UCLA kleinb@astro.ucla.edu Jura, M.
Karen Beth Kwitter* 1979 Professor of Astronomy, Williams kkwitter@williams.edu Margon
Kristin Kulas* 2013 Lecturer, Santa Clara University kkulas@scu.edu McLean, I. and Shapley, A.
Katherine Kornei* 2012 Science Writer; Museum Educator, Oregon Museum of Science & Industry kkornei@omsi.edu Shapley, A.
Dong-Woo Kim 1988 Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics kim@cfa.harvard.edu Jura, Mike
Charles Dayton Keyes 1981 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute keyes@stsci.edu Aller, Lawrence
Kevin Hainline 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, JWST NIRCam Science Team;, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona kevinhainline@gmail.com Shapley, A.
James Bailey Kaler 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Illinois kaler@astro.uiuc.edu Aller, Lawrence
Mary Elizabeth Anne Kaiser* 1990 Research Scientist, Johns Hopkins University kaiser@pha.jhu.edu Wright, Ned
Keri Dixon*§ 2012 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Sussex K.Dixon@sussex.ac.uk Furlanetto, S.
Jo Eliza Pitesky* 1993 Staff Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory jo.pitesky@jpl.nasa.gov Coroniti, Ferd
John Mottmann 1972 Professor of Astronomy, California Polytechnic University jmottman@calpoly.edu Abell, George
Jessica Lu* 2008 Assistant Astronomer, IfA/Hawaii jlu@ifa.hawaii.edu Ghez, Andrea
Joel Harvey Kastner 1990 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology jhkpci@cis.rit.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Jennifer Lynn Patience* 1999 Associate Professor, Arizona State University jennifer.patience@asu.edu Ghez, Andrea
Jan Joseph Dobias 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy, California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek
John David Anderson 1967 Senior Research Scientist (retired), Jet Propulsion Laboratory jdandy@earthlink.net Herrick, Samuel
Jeffrey Chilcote 2014 Dunlap Postdoc Fellow, University of Toronto jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Jay Farihi§ 2004 Assistant Professor, University College London j.farihi@ucl.ac.uk Becklin, Eric
Isabel Hawkins* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Ian Crossfield 2012 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellow, U. Arizona, Lunar & Planetary Lab ianc@lpl.arizona.edu Hansen, B.
Siek Hyung 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Chungbuk National Universiry, Korea hyung@trut.chunguk.ac.kr Aller, Lawrence
Robert Lewis Hurt§ 1993 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hurt@ipac.caltech.edu Coroniti, Ferd/Turner, Jean
David Stanley Leckrone 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired), Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Sara Ridgway Heap* 1970 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Lauren Holzbauer* 2014 Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Carl John Henney 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger