Alumni of UCLA's Astronomy Graduate Program

For any corrections or updates, please email webmaster[at]astro.ucla.edu. You may click on the column headings to sort the entries. Women indicated by asterisk. Alumni from other UCLA Graduate Programs with PhD Advisors in Astronomy are denoted by "§".

Name Year Current Position E-Mail Addresssort descending Advisor
Janet Leigh Weiland* 1984 Support Scientist, IR Astrophysics, Goddard Space Flight Center Plavec, Mirek
Rolf Erik Zimmermann 1970 Faculty, Newark State College Upton
Lukas Mandrake§ 2002 Coroniti, Ferd
Philip Dumont 1981 Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ulrich, Roger
Omar Al Hurricane§ 1994 Coroniti, Ferd/Pellat, R.
Yeuncheol Jeong 1994 Research Scientist, Korea Wright, Ned
Richard K. Albano§ 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Brian Mathew Punsly§ 1988 Coroniti, Ferd
Donald Scott Hayes 1967 Scientist (retired), Kitt Peak National Observatory Whitford
Richard Clayton Crawford 1980 Scientist, Northrop Grumman Plavec, Mirek
Stewart Lee Moses§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd/Kennel, C.
Devrie Shapiro Intriligator* 1967 Unknown
Gordon Eric Eggum§ 1986 Coroniti, Ferd
Lewis Larmore§ 1952 Popper, Dan
Uri Fehr 1966 Unknown
Christopher Muir Price 1978 Support Scientist, Carnegie Inst. of Washington Obs. Ford, Holland
Yi-Tian Gao 1991 Faculty Associate / Laboratory Director, China Cline, David
Thomas Charles Winter Jr 1965 Unknown
David Grahame Lawrie 1978 Scientist, Aerospace Corporation Ford, Holland
George Howard Jacoby 1978 Deputy Director (Technology), Lowell Observatory Ford, Holland
Paul Jerome Coleman Jr 1965 Unknown
Amy Mainzer* 2003 Deputy Project Scientist for WISE, Jet Propulsion Laboratory McLean, Ian
Thomas Stephen Eastmond 1977 Faculty, Santa Ana Community College Abell, George
Ronald Joseph Richard 1975 Faculty, Thomas Aquinas College Abell, George
Richard K. Albano 1989 Coroniti, Ferd
Denis Anthony Elliott 1974 Scientist in Astronomy Image Processing Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Riegel, Kurt
Mark Allen Fry 1973 Scientist, Air Force Weapons Lab Aller, Lawrence
Arati Chokshi* 1986 Professor of Astronomy, India Wright, Ned
Tom Esposito 2015 Postdoctoral Scholar, UC Berkeley tesposito@berkeley.edu Fitzgerald, M.
Alex G. Markowitz 2003 Research Astronomer, UC, San Diego agm@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Alaina Henry* 2009 NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center ahenry@astro.ucla.edu Malkan, M.
Alexander Jarvis§ 2008 Analyst, Disney Productions ajarvis@physics.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Amy Shiu-Mei Lo* 2005 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Space Technology amy.lo@ngc.com Wright, Ned
James Hardin Jr. Hunter 1964 Professor of Astronomy, University of Florida astjhh@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu Weymann, Ray
Angelle Maria Tanner* 2003 Assistant Professor, Mississippi State University at876@msstate.edu Ghez, Andrea
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
Ann Elizabeth Wehrle* 1987 Senior Research Astronomer, Space Science Institute awehrle@spacescience.org Morris, Mark
William Henry Clarke 1965 Professor of Astronomy, University of Toronto bclarke@astro.utoronto.ca Aller, Lawrence
John Gunther Beck 1997 Staff Scientist, Stanford - Solar Physics Group beck@fault.stanford.edu Ulrich, Roger
William Charles Straka 1969 Senior Staff Scientist, Lockheed Martin bill.straka@lmco.com Upton
Bruce Alan Macintosh 1994 Professor of Physics, Stanford University bmacint@stanford.edu Becklin, Eric
Betsy Mills* 2013 Jansky Postdoc Fellow, NRAO bmills@nrao.edu Morris, M.
Bruce Edward Bohannan 1973 Astronomer, Kitt Peak National Observatory bruce@noao.edu Epps, Harland
Brian Rush§ 1995 Senior Navigation Engineer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory brush@jpl.nasa.gov Malkan, Matt
Breann Sitarski* 2016 Member of the Technical Staff, The Aerospace Corporation bsitarski@astro.ucla.edu Ghez, A.
Caer-Eve McCabe* 2004 Research Scientist, Eureka Scientific Inc caereve@gmail.com Ghez, Andrea
Cecilia Syfert Barnbaum* 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Valdosta State University cbarnbau@valdosta.edu Morris, Mark
Christine Hsiao-Ching Chen* 2002 Associate Astronomer, Space Telescope Science Institute cchen@stsci.edu Jura, Mike
Chris Crockett 2011 Astronomer; Writing for Science News, U.S. Naval Observatory ccrockett@nofs.navy.mil Larkin, J.
Ozlem Celik*§ 2008 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center celik@astro.ucla.edu Ong, Rene
Chris McCarthy 2001 Adjunct Professor, San Francisco State University chris@stars.sfsu.edu Zuckerman, Ben
Chun Ly 2010 NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, Goddard Space Flight Center chun.ly@nasa.gov or astro.chun@gmail.com Malkan, M.
Carl Melis 2009 Assistant Research Scientist, UC, San Diego cmelis@ucsd.edu Zuckerman, B.
James Willian, IV Colbert 2003 Staff Scientist, NASA Spitzer Science Center colbert@ipac.caltech.edu Malkan, Matt
Cornelia Chesley Lang* 2000 Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu Morris, Mark
Richard Metcalf Crutcher 1972 Professor of Astronomy & Department Chair, University of Illinois crutcher@astro.uiuc.edu Riegel, Kurt
Thayne Michael Currie 2007 NAOJ-Subaru Research Fellow, Subaru Telescope currie@naoj.org Zuckerman, Ben
Chao-Wei Tsai 2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, JPL cwtsai@ipac.caltech.edu Turner, J.
David Michael Meyer 1984 Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Northwestern University davemeyer@northwestern.edu Jura, Mike
Fred Davies 2015 Postdoctoral Scholar, Max-Planck Institut fur Astronomie (MPIA) davies@mpia.de Furlanetto, S.
Deborah Anne Levine* 1995 Spitzer Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech deblev@ipac.caltech.edu Morris, Mark
Denise Kaisler* 2005 Professor of Astronomy, Citrus College dkaisler@citruscollege.edu Zuckerman, Ben
David Stuart Meier 2002 Associate Professor, New Mexico Tech dmeier@nmt.edu Turner, Jean
Ronald Alan Downes 1984 Scientist, Space Telescope Science Institute downes@stsci.edu Plavec, Mirek
Stephen Alan Drake 1980 Scientist, HEASARC, Goddard Space Flight Center drake@lheavx.gsfc.nasa.gov Ulrich, Roger
David Rodriguez 2011 Postdoctoral Researcher, Universidad de Chile drodrigu@das.uchile.cl Zuckerman, B.
Dawn Rene Williams* 2004 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama drwilliams3@ua.edu Saltzberg, David
Edwin Charles Krupp 1972 Director, Griffith Observatory eckrupp@earthlink.net Abell, George
Erin Kathleen Strobel Hicks* 2006 Assistant Professor of Astronomy; Director of UAA Planetarium & Visualization Theater, University of Alaska Anchorage ekhicks@uaa.alaska.edu Malkan, Matt
Edward Joseph Rhodes Jr. 1977 Professor of Astronomy, University of Southern California erhodes@usc.edu Ulrich, Roger
Emily Rice* 2009 Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island erice@amnh.org Mclean, I.
Erin Smith* 2008 Staff Scientist, NASA Ames esmith@hubble.gsfc.nasa.gov McLean, Ian
Paul Bernard Etzel 1986 Professor of Astronomy, San Diego State University etzel@mintaka.sdsu.edu Plavec, Mirek
Eugene Chen§ 2008 Scientist, DecisionNext (San Francisco) eugene@astro.ucla.edu Hansen, B.
Julia Fang* 2013 Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory fang@astro.ucla.edu Margot, J.-L.
Donald Frank Figer 1995 Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology figer@cis.rit.edu McLean, Ian
Frederick Keith Baganoff 1996 Research Scientist, a member of the Chandra/ACIS Instrument Team and of the NuSTAR Science Team, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research fkb@space.mit.edu Malkan, Matt
Tiffany Michelle Glassman* 2002 Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman glassman@ipac.caltech.edu Larkin, James
Gregory Mace 2014 Research Associate, University of Texas at Austin gmace@astro.as.utexas.edu McLean, I.
Geraldine Joan Peters* 1974 Professor (Research) of Physics & Astronomy, University of Southern California gpeters@usc.edu Aller, Lawrence
Gregory Benjamin Taylor 1991 Staff Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory gtaylor@nrao.edu Morris, Mark
Donald Henry Gudehus 1971 Adjunct Associate Professor of Astronomy, Georgia State University gudehus@chara.gsu.edu Abell, George
George William Rainey Jr. 1977 Faculty, California Polytechnic University gwrainey@csupomona.edu Abell, George
George William Hawkins 1990 Staff Scientist, AAVSO hawkins@aavso.org Zuckerman, Ben
Harry Louis Burger 1980 Senior Scientist, Toyon Research Corporation hburger@toyon.com Katz, Jonathan
Carl John Henney 1999 SOLIS Staff Scientist, Kitt Peak National Solar Observatory henney@noao.edu Ulrich, Roger
Harry Isaac Teplitz§ 1997 Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hit@ipac.caltech.edu McLean, Ian
Lauren Holzbauer* 2014 Government Employee, Non-Astronomy Institution holzbauer@astro.ucla.edu Furlanetto, S.
Christian Howard§ 2008 Research Programs Communications Manager, Google howard@astro.ucla.edu Rich, M.
Sara Ridgway Heap* 1970 Scientist, Goddard Space Flight Center hrsheap@stars.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
David Stanley Leckrone 1969 Project Scientist--Hubble Space Telescope (retired), Goddard Space Flight Center hrsleckrone@hrs.gsfc.nasa.gov Aller, Lawrence
Robert Lewis Hurt§ 1993 2MASS Staff Scientist, IPAC/Caltech hurt@ipac.caltech.edu Coroniti, Ferd/Turner, Jean
Siek Hyung 1992 Professor of Astronomy, Chungbuk National Universiry, Korea hyung@trut.chunguk.ac.kr Aller, Lawrence
Ian Crossfield 2012 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellow, U. Arizona, Lunar & Planetary Lab ianc@lpl.arizona.edu Hansen, B.
Isabel Hawkins* 1986 Senior Staff Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, UCB isabelh@ssl.berkeley.edu Jura, Mike
Jay Farihi§ 2004 Assistant Professor, University College London j.farihi@ucl.ac.uk Becklin, Eric
Jennifer Elaine Carson* 2005 Lecturer, Harvey Mudd College jcarson@hmc.edu Ong, Rene
Jeffrey Chilcote 2014 Dunlap Postdoc Fellow, University of Toronto jchilcote@astro.ucla.edu Larkin, J.
John David Anderson 1967 Senior Research Scientist (retired), Jet Propulsion Laboratory jdandy@earthlink.net Herrick, Samuel
Jan Joseph Dobias 1987 Lecturer and Research Associate in Astronomy, California State University, Northridge jdobias@csun1.csun.edu Plavec, Mirek